View Full Version: Someone sent me, anyone knows

ioanzone >>TECHNO TROUBLE! >>Someone sent me, anyone knows


<< Prev | Next >>

WarriorSelma- 02-04-2008
Someone sent me, anyone knows
Someone (really obnoxious person may I add) sent me a link trough msn to a site "who blocked" I tried to find more about that. Anyone knows what is it? I didn't follow the link and somehow I don't want to either.

Frances- 02-04-2008

Without the link you were sent, it is hard to say whether it points to a 'safe' site or not. The easiest thing for you to do would be to ask the person who sent you the link about the site s/he wished you saw, but if that someone is really obnoxious, I can understand how you'd like to avoid asking him/her. My rule of thumb is that I don't follow links I did not ask for, provided by people I don't know.

Gaffer'sGirl- 02-04-2008

I agree with Frances. If you don't know the person who sent it, it could be spam or a phishing scam or someone who wants access to your computer. Be careful Selma.

StevieT- 02-05-2008

Do you recognise the sender's email address, Selma? Spammers and phishers tend to use a jumble of letters. Delete them straight away. If I was you, I'd just ignore this site. If someone really wants you to se it, they can explain themselves.

WarriorSelma- 02-05-2008

Thanks Frances, G'sG and Steviell! Didn't follow the link but I tried to find little more about the subject of that link and apparently by creating account it can says who blocked you on msn. They first ask your password - a big no-no, so they can do this. This person that send me the link I met on one Bosnian forum where she saw my version of one Nicole Kidman and asked me on msn if I can make something out of her pic like make her breast bigger and so with her lips. (I am thinking weird) and don't do it just make a wallpaper and she says to me that it is not good, that I should practice more blah blah..She says she is working as a journalist in Bosnian biggest news paper agency. My friend said right after I received this request maybe she/they is/are looking for a graphic designer and that they are considering heiring someone and that I should give it a go. I was skeptic from the very first start. And when she said some rude words after I send her the wallpaper (she objected like I didn't make her more appealing ) I am thinking girl you don't need retouch you need a psychiatry or even a plastic surgeon. And than she sent me that link to join where they ask my password so I can see who blocked me. I am thinking well if someone blocked me in a first place I don't care. I don't see the reason why should I want to see who it was if they did that. I don't need them on my friends list either. Or on my allowed list just on blocked one! And Stevie when I asked what it is link for (and I searched it in a mean time) she kinda responded "never mind, not important" I was like...what? Not important. So why send it to me? But I didn't asked and I blocked her right away and deleted everything.

StevieT- 02-05-2008

You did just the right thing, Selma. This woman sounds as if she just wanted access to your account. Who knows why - to use your artwork, maybe? Maybe she saw a chance of some free publicity? But it sounds to me like a phishing scam to get your account. Your work is fantastic, Selma. :hug We'll be happy to show off any Wallpapers, Banners and avatars you feel like making in IZ.com's Gallery

Forumer™ is Voted #1 Free Forum Hosting provider
Build your own community today with the largest message board hosting company.